Skip to content

Pretty in Family Heirlooms

July 21, 2011

I think it’s safe to say that Kate has hit the jack pot (as it were) when it comes to inheriting family jewels. As evidenced by the gorgeous Canadian maple leaf brooch she wore throughout the Royal Tour, as well as the BAFTA earrings I wrote about in an earlier post, I am personally finding it fascinating to see royal heirloom jewelry on the new generation of British Royals. Not only does she carry them off incredibly well, but her natural style and glamour breath new life into each piece. (Side note: I’m of the opinion that the Duchess could wear a potato sack and her hair in a top knot bun, and still knock your socks off.) Below are pictures of both Queen Elizabeth and Duchess Kate wearing the brooch (and RED!) – lovely!

The truly special thing about heirloom jewelry is that it is usually passed (or borrowed) amongst female family members. I have several friends whose engagement or wedding ring – or even the jewelry they wear on their wedding day – is a gift from their grandmother, mother or mother-in-law, etc. Right before I was about to get married, my grandmother gifted me with my great-grandmother’s wedding ring (those diamonds are closing in on a century!). For our two-year anniversary, my husband took the diamonds from that band along with tiny diamonds from a ring my parents gave me created a new ring that is not only beautiful, but also just plain priceless!

As Brittney mentioned in a previous post, she wore her grandmother’s gold band on her wedding day – and it looked very much like the Welsh gold ring that adorns the Duchess’s finger. Jenni’s husband purchased a gorgeous set of pearls for her birthday about five years ago (I’ve seen them in person – stunning) that they plan to pass down to future children.

So, dear Pretty in Kate readers – what family heirloom jewelry is the most special to you? We’d love to hear – and pictures are welcome!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nickie permalink
    July 27, 2011 10:05 am

    Love the brooch. Love your ring, too, Heather! I pinned the pic of Kate wearing it to pinterest. http://www.pinterest.com

    I pinned the citrine earrings last time and they got at least 1 re-pin.

  2. August 13, 2011 10:25 pm

    Jewellery with stories are so much nicer.

Leave a Reply

