Skip to content

Ugly in Country

July 8, 2011

I go to a "Lady Longhorn Dinner" and I still can't master the "Western" look. UGH. (My BFF Ash, Mac Brown -- King of Texas Football, and Me)

A little secret I don’t like sharing too loudly: I am not a big fan of country. Country music, western wear, rodeos, you name it.

P.S. I’ve lived in Texas my whole life. I know. Pick your jaw off the floor.

How did this happen? Honestly, I have no idea. I grew up in Mesquite, Texas, for God’s sake, whose slogan is “Real. Texas. Flavor.” I don’t have a clue what that means. It’s also home of the Mesquite Pro Rodeo, which at one time was the biggest televised rodeo in the nation.

Growing up, Rodeo Days at school (elementary all the way through high school) had Western Day competitions. I won that in second grade, but obviously I didn’t have a choice in dressing myself 🙂

I went to the University of Freakin’ Texas, home of the 2005 National Champions in Football. (Don’t tell anyone I fell asleep during that game… I thought we were going to lose…).

I lived on a farm and across the street from a ranch growing up. Yet I turned out preppy.

My attempt at an inspired Kate look based on her country get-up yesterday even fell flat…

All I had was a striped Ralph Lauren polo I scored several years ago at the outlet for $40 (so I could attend a country-themed party), a pair of AG jeans scored again at the outlet for $30 and a pair of Stuart Weitzmans at DSW for $20 on super clearance a couple of years ago. Total cost: $90. Kate’s total cost: How the heck would I know?

I failed. This is ugly. Hopefully Brittney and her love of all things country will do better.

P.S. Make sure you follow PiK on Twitter and Like us on Facebook!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittney permalink
    July 8, 2011 8:59 am

    Bahahaha when I do country, I typically go the dress-and-boots route. And as the official country enthusiast of this blog, I will point you to pictures from my bachelorette party to see my ensemble 🙂

  2. July 8, 2011 9:23 am

    There is an old picture of me in a gingham dress, borrowed cowboy boots and a pleather belt (pleather… what was I thinking?!) at a Longhorn auction, but I sort of look fat, so I didn’t post it. Haha.

Leave a Reply

