Skip to content

Pretty as a Daisy

July 7, 2011

Picture tweeted by @royalsgossip

Yesterday afternoon, Kate and William touched down to a windy evening, and Kate was sporting a gorgeous yellow silk Jenny Packham dress with her LK Bennett nude shoes. (Given how often she wears them, they must be the most comfortable things on earth!!)

But let’s get real. Silk is unforgiving. And only someone with Kate’s thin frame can pull it off (Gosh, she looks almost too thin here actually). This Nanette Lepore jazzband dress is made out of a stretch cotton with a higher waistband. Perfect for someone who is sensitive about their stomachs (i.e., me!), and flattering for multiple body types. But at $300, not in my price range. If it is in yours though, check it out – it’s available online at Nordstrom.

And trying to find something under $75 proved to be difficult! After scouring Nordstrom, Zara, Forever 21, Target, Gap, Macy’s, New York & Company, Express, The Limited, BlueFly.com, heck even Amazon, I finally found something worthwhile at Banana Republic (I love that store). The Raw Ribbons Halter Dress — while a halter dress — is made out of 100% polyester but has a similar feel to the Jenny Packham dress. It’s still $130, so if you’re looking for something that is even cheaper, well, try this Target dress for $18.

Back in my Fatroll days, I had a fabulous yellow dress I scored from Target for $40 (which I thought was pricey at the time!). It’s got a gorgeous sheen to it and even though the color is a bit more like Fall to me, and if I still fit into it (ugh!) I would totally pair it   with my LK Bennett “inspired” shoes by Ellen Tracy. Here’s an old photo of me in the Target Dress:

(Photo from Austin American-Statesman)

Haha! My hair is so short there (this is almost two years old)! And I really should have worn makeup that day. And a pair of earrings. And my wedding rings. Geez. Oh wait! I took off the jewelry for the final weigh-in. HAHAHA. Oh, the things you’ll do to try and win a weight loss contest.

P.S. Make sure you follow PiK on Twitter and Like us on Facebook!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittney permalink
    July 8, 2011 10:08 am

    I tried on a yellow dress last night as a possible rehearsal/blog dress – except I didn’t like it as much as the sheer belted tunic I ended up purchasing, which will be worn with a tank top and black leggings. Just wait till you see it at the rehearsal!

Leave a Reply

