Skip to content

Pretty in Navy and Nude

July 5, 2011

Clearly, I’m obsessed with Kate Middleton. Err, sorry, Duchess Catherine.

Maybe it’s because her style is attainable. She’s not draped in overpriced couture all the time (she and her sister have worn Zara on several occasions, which is like the Spanish version of Forever 21), and her ability to style pieces together gives her the look of a polished lady, not a tacky Disney princess.

Right now, I’m on a ridiculously tight clothing budget because, well, my household went from DINK to OINK. And I’m trying to find fashion pieces that can be worn multiple times, multiple ways, for multiple years (or MTWY Fashion).  My inspiration for this newly coined mantra is the current Duchess. She is the Queen of reusing fashion and keeping it rockin’ no matter the year or look – and Kate’s LK Bennett nude patent heels are a prime example of that.

Kate’s love of the color navy is also becoming obvious with her current North American tour. It’s a great color – classy and as flattering as black without looking drab. So armed with these multiple looks and an idea of what works on my body (because very few people are as thin as she is and I love cupcakes, clearly), I set out to recreate a Kate look for work today.

First up to bat – finding the perfect shoe. Because it takes me more than 10 minutes to walk from my car to my desk, many fierce heels make me cry in pain by the time I sit down for work. So, as much as I wanted to go the cheaper route (this pair of Guess heels were super cute on, but I could tell how painful it was going to be walking in them for longer two minutes), I realized I needed to pay an extra few dollars for comfort. Luckily, I had a store credit and a coupon, which brought the pair I eventually chose under $50. YAY!

Here’s a side-by-side comparison of the Ellen Tracy pair I purchased and Kate’s LK Bennet shoe (mine is Khaki instead of nude – the nude didn’t work as well with my skin tone so I went a bit darker):

You can purchase the Ellen Tracy shoes by clicking here, and the LK Bennet shoes by clicking here.

Then this weekend, I was visiting family in East Texas, which is also my favorite place to bargain hunt for fashion. Say wha? Yeah, you would think my shopping meccas are North Park in Dallas (which is fabulous) or business trips that take me to NYC.

But little known fact – have you ever been to East Texas? Have you seen what people wear? Polyester blends with crazy prints and Brighton-inspired jewelry everywhere. And that’s cool – I dig it – it’s the “local” style and flair of the region. But that means what I consider “the good stuff” always goes on sale there. It’s like opposite day. The stuff you see on sale at the department stores in Dallas, Houston or Austin are the items that are hot tickets in the country. Heck, one time I went to the Dillards in Tyler, and the entire BCBG section was 50-70% off. Total score.

So I trekked to the town of Gun Barrel City (yeah people, that is a legit town name… no wonder people stereotype Texas) and began sifting through the Bealls clearance rack of dresses for a navy-style dress. And bingo! I located a dress on clearance for $10 that ended up being $7.50 after a 25% coupon.

Sooo, here is a lovely dress by Erdem and Kate’s LK Bennett shoes (Erdem dresses retail for $1-3k). And here I am with my $7.50 Bealls clearance dress with my khaki shoes.

Kate Middleton picture by Getty Images

Listen, I’m not saying that our outfits are identical or that my dress could pass off as a $2k couture outfit (it totally can’t). Rather, my look is simply inspired by her good taste in clothing and putting certain styles and colors together.

Stay tuned next week as I try once again to replicate a look by Duchess Catherine. I have a hair appointment with the fabulous Griffin at Deklynd Channing Hair Design and I want him to teach me some fun Kate-inspired hairdos, since our hair type, color and length are fairly similar.

P.S. Make sure you follow PiK on Twitter and Like us on Facebook!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Janice permalink
    July 12, 2011 8:20 pm

    I will say, the Stuart Weitzman Platswoon in Adobe is a pretty good knock off to the Sledge.

    • July 12, 2011 8:30 pm

      If you live in the Austin area, one of our readers, Heather, over on the PiK Facebook page just pointed out that there is that exact Stuart Weitzman Platswoon shoe at the Savers off of Burnett for $15. 🙂 Get it if you get a chance!

Trackbacks

  1. Pretty as a Daisy « Pretty In Kate
  2. Pretty in LK Bennett (Again) « Pretty In Kate
  3. Pretty in Citrine « Pretty In Kate
  4. Pretty (and warm) in Red « Pretty In Kate
  5. Pretty in Green « Pretty In Kate
  6. Pretty n’ Casual in Black & White « Pretty In Kate

Leave a Reply

